Betwixt and Between

Redundant title, but I felt the need to bewitch you by using the word ‘betwixt.’  When I stepped outside this morning, about ninety minutes before sunrise, I looked up and couldn’t believe the incredibly bright stars and planets I could see against a dark sky.  Very unusual sight from my front steps.  I even called my husband out to look at the gorgeous perfect visibility of the entire constellation Orion.  We could even see all seven stars of the Pleaides, directly overhead.  I couldn’t resist the siren call of my camera, so I went back inside, grabbed the tripod and the camera and took a half dozen photos.

Waning Moon Equidistant Between Venus and Jupiter

Waning Moon Equidistant Between Venus and Jupiter (Monday 9/10/2012)

Yesterday morning, the moon was a bit brighter and closer to Jupiter.

Orion, the Hunter

Orion, the Hunter (Monday 9/10/2012)

Jupiter with the Seven Sisters (Pleiades)

Jupiter with the Seven Sisters (Pleiades)

Click on any of the above images to see larger versions of them.

I can’t wait to see what tomorrow morning has in store for me.

About mossjon314159

Avid reader (see my book reviews and ratings here), amateur astronomer and photographer, sporadic crocheter and Rottweiler spoiler.
This entry was posted in Astronomy, Clusters, Constellations, Jupiter, Moon, Orion, Venus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Betwixt and Between

  1. Pingback: Feeling Crabby | Misty Midwest Mossiness

Leave a Reply

