Movie Review: The Hunger Games (2012)

The Hunger Games (2012)

3.5 out of 5 stars

Better than the book, barely.  I read the book and gave it three stars.  I knew then, when I finished reading it, that a movie would deliver more impact in some respects, and it does.  I missed some of the back-story (although the first book doesn’t give you much to work with).  The book did provide a better window and more intimately through Katniss’ eyes and thoughts, into the plight of the ‘citizens’ of the Districts.

I have gripes with the casting though.  Peeta in no way convinced me of his strength or of even being a baker’s son.  Same goes for Gale, only I thought the casting went over-the-top the other way on that one.

I noticed from the credits that the author, Suzanne Collins, had her fingers in most of the pots, including as an executive producer, so I really have no quibble with deviations from the written vision.

I will say I was a bit disappointed by the special affects, which seemed on par with a television show and not a ‘normal’ science fiction film.

About mossjon314159

Avid reader (see my book reviews and ratings here), amateur astronomer and photographer, sporadic crocheter and Rottweiler spoiler.
This entry was posted in Movies and Television Shows, Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movie Review: The Hunger Games (2012)

  1. Thought they did a good job adapting this one, but would still advise people to read the book. Like a lot of the choices with supporting cast, it will be seen what the two males leads do as their roles grow in the sequels, check out my review http://amandalovesmovies.com/2012/04/02/the-hunger-games

  2. Pingback: Hugo Awards Voting Adventure: Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form) aka Movies | Misty Midwest Mossiness

Leave a Reply

