Cracked Honey Wheat Bread

Other ingredients1 1/4 cups boiling water
1/4 cup cracked wheat

4 T canola oil (or butter/margarine)
4 T honey
1 cup KAF White Whole Wheat Flour
2 cups KAF Unbleached Bread Flour
1 T vital wheat gluten
1 1/2 tsp sea salt
2 tsp yeast

∞∞∞

Cracked wheat soakingUsing my bread machine, I placed the boiling water in the bread pan first with the cracked wheat to soak (min of 30 mins) while I gathered the other ingredients.  I added the honey and oil to pan.

Ready to mix∞∞∞

Then I added the dry ingredients, except for the yeast.  I made a crater in the mound of flour mixture and placed the yeast carefully in the crater.

I set a delay on my dough cycle (my bread machine includes a 20 min preheat feature I can add for all programmed cycles) and let the machine do the rest.  I prefer to back my bread in my oven, rather than the machine, so I almost always use dough cycle.

My Precious

My Precious (click image for rest of album)

Once the cycle completes, remove the dough from the pan, shape it and allow the dough to rise, covered, for about 1 hour, or until it’s crowned about 1 inch over the rim of the pan. Bake the bread in a preheated 350°F oven for 35 to 45 minutes, or until an instant-read thermometer inserted into the center of the loaf registers about 190°F. Remove the bread from the oven, turn it out of the pan, and let it cool on a wire rack.

∞∞∞

Check back in a couple of hours for updated photos and the results of my bread dough epiphany.

Cooling on rack

Cooling on the rack

About mossjon314159

Avid reader (see my book reviews and ratings here), amateur astronomer and photographer, sporadic crocheter and Rottweiler spoiler.
This entry was posted in Baking, Bread and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cracked Honey Wheat Bread

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Hobbit by Tolkien (5 stars) | Misty Midwest Mossiness

Leave a Reply

