Book Review: Neuromancer by Gibson (3 Stars)

Neuromancer by William Gibson

3 out of 5 stars

Read in December 2008

It was difficult to stay focused on this novel, its story and it’s characters. If I could, I would probably give this 2.5 stars rather than 3 stars, but I’ll be lenient since was a triple award winner in the 80s.

However, it really hasn’t stood the test of time well. If I had read this when published, which would have been my first year in college as an engineer/math/computer science college student, it would have been cutting edge, or more appropriately, bleeding edge.

But the character development was lost in the weird heist-like saga of these individuals thrown together by an immoral and immortal AI manipulating them and the world. It was sad that I couldn’t care what happened to them or their acquaintances or their world. Some of the action was top-notch, but much of their motivations were harsh, raw and confusing.

I can see where Hollywood has reworked this idea many times over the last two decades, most notably The Matrix and Johnny Mneumonic and a spattering of television episodes (a couple of X Files and a Lone Gunman one that I can remember off the top of my head).

About mossjon314159

Avid reader (see my book reviews and ratings here), amateur astronomer and photographer, sporadic crocheter and Rottweiler spoiler.
This entry was posted in 3 Star, Books, Fiction, Ratings, Reading, Reviewing, Reviews, Science Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Neuromancer by Gibson (3 Stars)

  1. Daniel pepper says:

    This book seems to be a real hit and miss with people. Personally William Gibson is very high on my favourite authors of all time list. I loved all of the books in this trilogy and the next. I only read this book for the first time last year, and I still got into it somehow. As I said, tends to be really hit and miss with people 🙂

Leave a Reply

