Recipe Review: “The Easiest Pizza You’ll Ever Make by King Arthur Flour” (5 stars)

Recipe: The Easiest Pizza You’ll Ever Make: King Arthur Flour.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Baked: January 27, 2014

Home Made PizzaMy most recent order from King Arthur Flour (taking advantage of one of their frequent free shipping promotions) included their Pizza Dough Flavor.  Since I wanted to take advantage of this new seasoning, I didn’t use my standard pizza crust mix found in King Arthur’s 200th Anniversary cookbook.  Instead, I searched through the recipes available at King Arthur’s website and decided to try the one listed above.

I cut the recipe in half, just like I do the one from the cookbook, because my husband and I don’t need to make two or three large pizzas.  One large one is plenty for a couple of meals.  I also don’t let the dough rise but for a few minutes, long enough for me to heat the oven up to 450 degrees.  Terry and I prefer thin, crispy crusts so rising is never a necessity.

I rolled out the dough.  I prepped my large pizza pan by spraying it with some olive oil and dusting it with corn meal.  I transferred the dough to the pan and poked it with a fork several times to keep it from bubbling up.  Then I put it in the oven to pre-bake for ten minutes.

Home Made PizzaI removed the crust from the oven and sprayed it again with some olive oil.  I added some pizza sauce and then let Terry add the toppings.  Back in the oven for another 10-15 minutes, watching for the last few to make sure the cheese doesn’t get too brown.  Transfer it easily from the pan (slides right off thanks to the corn meal) to a large cutting board where it can rest and set the toppings for 5-10 minutes.  Cut and serve.

I liked the added flavor from the Pizza Dough Flavor mix.  It reminded me, nostalgically, of the Chef Boyardee Pizza Kits I used to make with my mother when I was a kid.  Though I must admit I think the KAF flavor tastes better.

About mossjon314159

Avid reader (see my book reviews and ratings here), amateur astronomer and photographer, sporadic crocheter and Rottweiler spoiler.
This entry was posted in 5 Star, Baking, Musings, Products, Ratings, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

