Wildflower Garden Update

20160609_055708Last fall, we had some landscaping done on the east and north sides of the house. The south side just had some fill dirt graded against the foundation and a cherry try planted between the apple tree and the fence. We also removed the bothersome mulberry terry from the corner of the fenced backyard.

I attempted to grow sunflowers last summer with limited success.  This year, I decided I wanted a wildflower garden to give bees and hopefully hummingbirds something to enjoy.  I bought a bag of wildflower seed, raked the fill dirt to loosen it and even it out and liberally sprinkled the seed along the entire south wall of the house.  A few weeks later, I’m starting to see blooms, thanks in no small part to nearly ten inches of rain we received in May.

Here are a few photos of the flowers popping up in my first ever wildflower garden:

20160612_100851

20160612_100806

20160612_100603

20160609_055831

20160605_123133

To see more photos, click on this link to my Wildflower Garden album, which I will keep updating with new photos as new blooms arrive.

And since I’m not much of a gardener nor a botanist, if anyone can identify the flowers I’ve depicted here (or in the album), please comment with the name of the flower or plant.

Have a great rest of your weekend!

About mossjon314159

Avid reader (see my book reviews and ratings here), amateur astronomer and photographer, sporadic crocheter and Rottweiler spoiler.
This entry was posted in Digital, Musings, Photography, Seasons, Spring, Summer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wildflower Garden Update

  1. thebookgator says:

    Last two are cosmos, which are annuals but sometimes self-seed. In WI, we have to buy them every year. Third from the bottom is probably a coreopsis. There’s a lot of varieties of those! I’m thinking the one above that is a sweet pea. Hard to be sure without more greenery for me. I think most of those will be annuals.

Leave a Reply

